INTERNATIONAL CERTIFICATION

 
 
 
 
 
 

ICAO PROCEDURE

Excellent news for our students and drone pilot instructors, we now offer a bilingual international equivalency program (French & English)

for obtaining certificates of recognition in ICAO member countries.

image.jpg
17495-iata.jpg

IATA PROCEDURE

Drone Box is the only Canadian training center certified by the French Directorate General of Civil Aviation to offer a European equivalence program for Canadian drone pilots wishing to obtain international recognition. as well as the preparation in accordance with part 1 ° 7 of the FAA rules

CERTIFICATE FOR SPECIALIZED AIR OPERATION

  • Jumbo Run

  • Drone designs

  • ATP + 25kg

  • Foreign pilot

  • Charge uses complex

  • BVLOS (Beyond Visual Line of Sight)

  • More than 5 drones

Image de Mael BALLAND
Image de Kaung Myat Min

INTERNATIONAL CERTIFICATION

Unmanned Aircraft (UA) are aircraft, but they feature a wide variety of capabilities and styles, including RPAs, sometimes referred to as “drones” in common parlance. Regulators need to be able to distinguish between different categories.

🇨🇦Canada🇨🇦

Commercial drone flying is far less regulated in Canada than in the U.S. or U.K. In fact, while a drone pilot certificate is required, Transport Canada makes no distinction between commercial and recreational use. There are, however, two different levels of certification.

For Basic Operations — which includes any flight more than 100 feet away from bystanders and in uncontrolled airspace — pilots need only take an online test, called the Small Basic Exam.

For all other flights — classified as Advanced Operations — pilots must complete a separate online test and complete a flight review. This is an in-person evaluation of your skills as a pilot, similar to a driver’s license test. This examination is administered by a certified flight reviewer who attended a drone flight school and has been approved by Transport Canada.

No matter what kind of certification you have, it’s essential that your drone pilot certificate is on your person at all times while operating a UAV.

jason-hafso-C2keINMOhIE-unsplash.jpeg
guillaume-perigois-HL4LEIyGEYU-unsplash.

🇪🇺 European Union 🇪🇺

Starting in 2020, the EU and all its member nations divide drones into three distinct categories based on their weight and use.

The Open category covers most forms of commercial drone use. Open drones can’t fly over any “uninvolved people,” without exception

 

— however past that there are subcategories based on the type of drone. Subcategory A2 drones can fly within 30 horizontal meters of uninvolved people, and get as close as 5 meters if using the low-speed mode function. However, only drones manufactured in 2021 or later are eligible.

For most commercial drones, Subcategory A3 rules apply. This class of drones can only fly in an area where uninvolved people and buildings are outside of your visual line of sight, typically about 150 meters.

The Specific and Certified categories, meanwhile, include drones and uses with a greater level of risk. Drones covered in the Specific category require specific authorization before any given flight. In some cases, however, a pilot need only declare their intention to fly in advance. For Certified category flights, both the drone and operator must have special licensing.

Once you’ve determined which category best describes your situation, you can begin the licensing process by registering with your area’s National Aviation Authority. Notably, each country in the EU has its own NAA. From there, it’s on you to ensure your drone is properly insured in your country and take the test for your category. Each test has 40 multiple-choice questions. Potential subcategory A2 pilots also need to answer an additional 30 multiple-choice questions about subjects like mitigating ground risk. 

For more information, we decode the new European drone regulations laid out by the European Union Aviation Safety Agency (EASA). 

🇺🇸United States🇺🇸

In the U.S., the Federal Aviation Administration (FAA) is the governmental body that is responsible for regulating the national airspace, and classifies drone pilots into three categories:

  • Hobbyists: Includes drone pilots flying for recreational purposes;

  • Commercial users: Pilots flying with the intent of generating commercial value;

  • Government users: Any drone pilots flying for a government entity such as fire department, police department, agency or similar

Establishing which type of classification you fit under will allow you to understand the rules and regulations that are applicable — with hobbyists subject to a lower level of oversight than the other two categories. 

Commercial drone pilots are subject to the FAA’s Small UAS Rule (Part 107) — which states that commercial pilots must hold a Remote Pilot Certificate and register their UAV with the FAA. Other Part 107 rules specify the allowable weight of a UAV, as where your drone can go.

Notably, drones must weigh less than 55 pounds, including payload and must be kept within the pilot’s visual line of sight and in Class G airspace.

 

 

The eligibility criteria to receive a Remote Pilot Certificate, include:

  • Being 16 years of age or older;

  • Passing the Part 107 test;

  • The ability to read, speak and write English;

  • The physical and mental condition to fly a drone safely

To begin the certification process, a pilot must begin by creating an Integrated Airman Certification and Rating Application (IACRA) profile.

From there, you’ll need to schedule an appointment with an FAA Knowledge Testing Center to take the Part 107 test. The exam covers multiple subjects, including:

  • Restrictions and regulations;

  • Operating requirements;

  • The effects of weather on a UAS;

  • Radio communication procedures;

  • Emergency procedures;

  • The impact of drugs and alcohol on flight ability;

  • Maintenance and preflight inspection procedures

Once a pilot has passed the test, they should complete FAA Form 8710-13 and register in the FAA IACRA system. A printable remote pilot certificate will then be issued and emailed. Commercial drone pilots should keep this certificate in an accessible place at all times when working with a drone or other UAS. Each certificate is valid for two years, at which point a pilot will have to pass another knowledge test.

pierre-bouyer-eiELNPsMn00-unsplash.jpeg
robert-tudor-EjHr26LqfhI-unsplash.jpeg

🇬🇧United Kingdom🇬🇧

In the U.K., a commercial drone license, or permission as they are known here, is issued by the Civil Aviation Authority and valid for a 12-month period. These permissions are required not only for anyone wishing to use a drone for commercial purposes but also to fly a UAV more than 400 feet above the ground and within a set distance of crowded areas.

Commercial drone permissions are divided into two categories: Standard and Non-Standard.

A Standard Permission covers the vast majority of commercial uses, as well as anyone looking to fly past the boundary restrictions mentioned above. Non-Standard permissions are only given out to pilots whose work has a higher degree of risk. In addition to meeting all of the requirements for a Standard Permission, Non-Standard pilots must also submit special paperwork, called an Operating Safety Case, to the CAA.

Pilots seeking a permission must:

  • Complete a Remote Pilot Competence, which includes demonstrating knowledge of basic aviation law, practice and theory, and passing a practical flight assessment.

  • Craft an Operations Manual with set procedures that are applicable to the type of flying they’ll be doing.

Preparation for the exam is typically handled by CAA-certified private companies, referred to as National Qualified Entities. The CAA recommends that interested pilots contract an NQE before attempting to get a permission.  

🇦🇺Australia🇦🇺

Commercial drone pilots in Australia must have a remote pilot licence, or RePL from the Civil Aviation Safety Authority. In addition, you or your employer must possess a remotely piloted operators certificate (ReOC) — which is for businesses who wish to use drones. Notably, none of these licensing requirements apply to a recreational user.

To obtain a RePL, pilots must first apply for an aviation reference number, a unique ID used by the government to identify pilots. From there, pilots must complete a required training protocol.

 

Those with no previous experience must take a course with a certified training provider. For those who have some experience — such as some members of the military and those who have already completed an aviation theory course — a short competency test is the only requirement. A completed RePL can then be downloaded with a convenient iPhone or Android app.

stories-jSy3UcfZM_4-unsplash.jpeg

Want to know more about our international certifications?

CERTIFICATION INTERNATIONALE

 
 
 
 

PROCEDURE OACI

Excellente nouvelle pour nos étudiants et instructeurs de pilotes de drone, nous proposons désormais un programme d'équivalence internationale bilingue (Français & Anglais)

 pour l'obtention de certificats de reconnaissance dans les pays membres de l'OACI.

image.jpg
17495-iata.jpg

PROCEDURE IATA

Drone Box est le seul centre de formation canadien certifié par la Direction Générale de l'Aviation Civile française à proposer un programme d'équivalence européen pour les pilotes de drone canadiens souhaitant obtenir une reconnaissance internationale. ainsi que la préparation conformément à la partie 1°7 du reglème de la FAA

CERTIFICAT POUR OPERATION AERIENNE SPÉCIALISÉ

  • Jumbo Run 

  • Esseins de drones

  • ATP +25kg 

  • Pilote étranger 

  • Charge utilise complexe

  • BVLOS (Beyond Visual Line of Sight)

  • Plus de 5 drones 

Image de Mael BALLAND
Image de Kaung Myat Min

CERTIFICATION INTERNATIONALE

Les aéronefs non habités (UA) sont des aéronefs, mais ils présentent une très grande diversité de capacités et de styles, y compris les RPA, parfois appelés « drones » dans le langage courant. Les organes de régulation doivent être en mesure d’établir une distinction entre les différentes catégories.

🇨🇦Canada🇨🇦

Le vol commercial de drones est beaucoup moins réglementé au Canada qu'aux États-Unis ou au Royaume-Uni. En fait, bien qu'un certificat de pilote de drone soit requis, Transports Canada ne fait aucune distinction entre l'utilisation commerciale et l'utilisation récréative. Il existe toutefois deux niveaux différents de certification.

Pour les opérations de base - qui comprennent tout vol à plus de 100 pieds des passants et dans un espace aérien non contrôlé - les pilotes n'ont qu'à passer un test en ligne, appelé petit examen de base.

Pour tous les autres vols - classés dans la catégorie Opérations avancées - les pilotes doivent passer un test en ligne distinct et effectuer un examen en vol. Il s'agit d'une évaluation en personne de vos compétences en tant que pilote, similaire à l'examen du permis de conduire. Cet examen est administré par un examinateur en vol certifié qui a fréquenté une école de pilotage de drones et a été approuvé par Transports Canada.

Quel que soit le type de certification dont vous disposez, il est essentiel que votre certificat de pilote de drone soit sur vous en tout temps lorsque vous utilisez un drone.

jason-hafso-C2keINMOhIE-unsplash.jpeg
guillaume-perigois-HL4LEIyGEYU-unsplash.

🇪🇺Union Européenne 🇪🇺

À partir de 2020, l'UE et toutes ses nations membres répartissent les drones en trois catégories distinctes en fonction de leur poids et de leur utilisation.

La catégorie ouverte couvre la plupart des formes d'utilisation commerciale des drones. Les drones ouverts ne peuvent pas survoler de "personnes non impliquées", sans exception. Cependant, au-delà, il existe des sous-catégories basées sur le type de drone. Les drones de la sous-catégorie A2 peuvent voler dans un rayon de 30 mètres horizontaux autour de personnes non impliquées, et s'approcher jusqu'à 5 mètres s'ils utilisent la fonction de mode basse vitesse. Cependant, seuls les drones fabriqués en 2021 ou après sont éligibles.

Pour la plupart des drones commerciaux, les règles de la sous-catégorie A3 s'appliquent. Cette catégorie de drones ne peut voler que dans une zone où les personnes et les bâtiments non impliqués sont en dehors de votre ligne de vue, généralement à environ 150 mètres.

Les catégories Spécifique et Certifié, quant à elles, incluent les drones et les utilisations présentant un niveau de risque plus élevé. Les drones de la catégorie Spécifique nécessitent une autorisation spécifique avant tout vol. Dans certains cas, cependant, le pilote doit simplement déclarer son intention de voler à l'avance. Pour les vols de la catégorie Certifié, le drone et l'opérateur doivent tous deux disposer d'une licence spéciale.

Une fois que vous avez déterminé la catégorie qui correspond le mieux à votre situation, vous pouvez entamer la procédure d'autorisation en vous inscrivant auprès de l'autorité aéronautique nationale de votre région. Il est à noter que chaque pays de l'UE possède sa propre autorité aéronautique nationale. Ensuite, c'est à vous de vous assurer que votre drone est correctement assuré dans votre pays et de passer le test correspondant à votre catégorie. Chaque test comporte 40 questions à choix multiples. Les pilotes potentiels de la sous-catégorie A2 doivent également répondre à 30 questions à choix multiples supplémentaires sur des sujets tels que l'atténuation des risques au sol. 

Pour en savoir plus, nous décodons la nouvelle réglementation européenne sur les drones établie par l'Agence de sécurité aérienne de l'Union européenne (AESA). 

🇺🇸États-Unis🇺🇸

Aux États-Unis, l'Administration fédérale de l'aviation (FAA) est l'organisme gouvernemental chargé de réglementer l'espace aérien national, et classe les pilotes de drones en trois catégories :
Les hobbyistes : Comprend les pilotes de drones volant à des fins récréatives ;
Les utilisateurs commerciaux : Pilotes volant dans l'intention de générer une valeur commerciale ;
Utilisateurs gouvernementaux : Tout pilote de drone volant pour une entité gouvernementale telle qu'un service d'incendie, un service de police, une agence ou similaire.
En déterminant à quel type de classification vous appartenez, vous pourrez comprendre les règles et réglementations applicables, les amateurs étant soumis à un niveau de surveillance moins élevé que les deux autres catégories. 


Les pilotes de drones commerciaux sont soumis à la Small UAS Rule (partie 107) de la FAA - qui stipule que les pilotes commerciaux doivent être titulaires d'un certificat de pilote à distance et enregistrer leur drone auprès de la FAA. D'autres règles de la partie 107 précisent le poids autorisé d'un drone, comme les endroits où votre drone peut aller.


Notamment, les drones doivent peser moins de 55 livres, charge utile comprise, et doivent être maintenus dans le champ visuel du pilote et dans l'espace aérien de classe G. Les critères d'éligibilité pour recevoir un certificat de télé-pilote sont les suivants :
Être âgé de 16 ans ou plus ;
Réussir le test de la partie 107 ;
Savoir lire, parler et écrire l'anglais ;
Avoir la condition physique et mentale pour piloter un drone en toute sécurité.

Pour entamer le processus de certification, un pilote doit commencer par créer un profil IACRA (Integrated Airman Certification and Rating Application). Ensuite, vous devrez prendre rendez-vous avec un centre de test des connaissances de la FAA pour passer le test de la partie 107.

L'examen couvre plusieurs sujets, notamment
Les restrictions et réglementations ;
Les exigences d'exploitation ;
Les effets de la météo sur un UAS ;
Les procédures de communication radio ;
Les procédures d'urgence ;
L'impact des drogues et de l'alcool sur la capacité de vol ;
les procédures d'entretien et d'inspection avant le vol.
Une fois qu'un pilote a passé le test, il doit remplir le formulaire 8710-13 de la FAA et s'enregistrer dans le système IACRA de la FAA. Un certificat de télé-pilote imprimable sera alors délivré et envoyé par courrier électronique. Les pilotes de drones commerciaux doivent conserver ce certificat dans un endroit accessible à tout moment lorsqu'ils travaillent avec un drone ou un autre UAS. Chaque certificat est valable deux ans, après quoi le pilote devra passer un nouveau test de connaissances.

pierre-bouyer-eiELNPsMn00-unsplash.jpeg
robert-tudor-EjHr26LqfhI-unsplash.jpeg

🇬🇧Royaume-Uni🇬🇧

Au Royaume-Uni, une licence de drone commercial, ou une permission comme on les appelle ici, est délivrée par l'autorité de l'aviation civile et est valable pour une période de 12 mois. Ces autorisations sont requises non seulement pour toute personne souhaitant utiliser un drone à des fins commerciales, mais aussi pour faire voler un drone à plus de 400 pieds au-dessus du sol et à une distance déterminée des zones fréquentées.

Les autorisations de drone à usage commercial sont divisées en deux catégories : Standard et Non-Standard.

Une autorisation standard couvre la grande majorité des utilisations commerciales, ainsi que toute personne souhaitant voler au-delà des restrictions mentionnées ci-dessus. Les autorisations non standard ne sont accordées qu'aux pilotes dont le travail présente un degré de risque plus élevé. En plus de satisfaire à toutes les exigences d'une autorisation standard, les pilotes non standard doivent également soumettre à la CAA des documents spéciaux, appelés "Operating Safety Case".

Les pilotes qui souhaitent obtenir une autorisation doivent

Compléter une compétence de télépilote, qui comprend la démonstration de la connaissance du droit, de la pratique et de la théorie de base de l'aviation, et la réussite d'une évaluation pratique en vol.
Rédiger un manuel d'exploitation contenant les procédures applicables au type de vol qu'ils effectueront.
La préparation à l'examen est généralement assurée par des entreprises privées certifiées par la CAA, appelées entités nationales qualifiées. La CAA recommande aux pilotes intéressés de passer un contrat avec une NQE avant de tenter d'obtenir une autorisation.  
 

🇦🇺Australie🇦🇺

En Australie, les pilotes de drones commerciaux doivent posséder une licence de pilote à distance, ou RePL, délivrée par la Civil Aviation Safety Authority. En outre, vous ou votre employeur devez posséder un certificat d'opérateur télécommandé (ReOC) - qui est destiné aux entreprises qui souhaitent utiliser des drones. Il est à noter qu'aucune de ces exigences en matière de licence ne s'applique à un utilisateur récréatif.

Pour obtenir un RePL, les pilotes doivent d'abord demander un numéro de référence aéronautique, un identifiant unique utilisé par le gouvernement pour identifier les pilotes. Ensuite, les pilotes doivent suivre un protocole de formation obligatoire. Ceux qui n'ont aucune expérience préalable doivent suivre un cours auprès d'un prestataire de formation agréé. Pour ceux qui ont une certaine expérience - comme certains membres de l'armée et ceux qui ont déjà suivi un cours théorique d'aviation - un court test de compétence est la seule exigence. Un RePL complété peut ensuite être téléchargé à l'aide d'une application pratique pour iPhone ou Android.

stories-jSy3UcfZM_4-unsplash.jpeg

En savoir plus sur nos certifications internationale ?